top of page

Scholar Spotlight: Roberto Duran






Name: Roberto Duran

College: Cal State Bakersfield

Major: Business Administration w/ a concentration in finance

Class of: 2023







Scholar's Story:


"My name is Roberto Duran and I currently attend California State University of Bakersfield as a business administration major with a concentration in finance. I am a first-generation student and the first one in my family to go into higher education. My parents came to this country, the U.S, to give their children a life full of opportunities. No opportunity of mine is taken for granted. Getting a degree is an accomplishment that has been on my mind for as long as I can remember. Day by day, I become closer to the day I will make their sacrifices worth it. My journey of making it to a university has been a road I had to create for myself. Without a role model to look up to, I had to find different resources to guide me towards a better future.


"There is no direct path to being successful in life."

I am a class of 2019 graduate from East Bakersfield High School. Not only a graduate but one of the top ten students in the class. Being from an area of poverty, the odds are against the majority of students. Great things are not expected from individuals of colored skin. However, we are changing the norms and together are evolving. I grew up with many bright individuals. We progressed through the many stages of life. We are prospering through our education. From elementary school to middle school, I witnessed many of my peer’s change. Through high school, I saw many of them take different routes in life that may not involve education. In the end, everyone has their own destiny. The decision to further your education at a community college, four-year university, private, or joining the workforce are choices that are most common. There is no direct path to being successful in life. The decision to further your education is a very hard commitment. Most importantly choosing where to go.


The decision of choosing which university to go to is an intimidating process to go through. Students must decide whether to stay home or leave. Many may be judged for staying in their hometown. Also, many are judged for not going to a top tier university. The idea of being successful comes in many different ways. The road to being successful is built through your own actions. It is critical for students to remember that the negative opinions from others must be ignored. Many people say that most of the people you meet in high school, you will more than likely never see them again. They will not be part of your life. Therefore, why should their opinions matter? I myself decided to stay at my local university, CSUB. With the opportunity to leave home and go to any other university that accepted me, I ignored the opinions of others and made the best decision for my future. It was surprising to many, but for me it was a relief. Making the decision that is best for me was a great feeling. The process I took on deciding where to go was as simple as the three factors listed below. They must all be met.


  1. Major must be Provided

  2. Affordable Cost of Attendance

  3. Location of school/ comfort


When it comes to the life of a college student, it is expected to have lots of stress due to the work of each course. Along with having your education as a priority, come many adventures with it. During your life as a college student there will be a need to destress from the pressure courses put on you. Thus, it is necessary to have the available funds to be able to have a bit of fun. The fun in college is a privilege and must be earned. Without a break from school, students are unable to function efficiently due to mental exhaustion. Rewarding yourself for your hard work is essential to keep moving forward. Also, it is part of meeting new people and socializing. The funds for this can come from a part-time job or any other style of income.


As an example, I myself have a part-time job on campus. I work a maximum of about 13 hours a week. This allows me to focus on my courses while still being able to make some money. With this money I am able to at least reward myself by going out for the weekend. Also, being able to afford that very much needed fast food after a long day of studying.

The most important idea for the privilege of having fun in college is always to remember that school is your priority. The money should not be a distraction from your studies. Money can always be made at any time of your life. Your career may be on the line if a job is stopping you from passing your classes. It is just necessary to find the correct balance that is just right for you.


When it comes to budgeting, each individual must create the perfect plan for themselves. Each person must distribute their money differently depending on their current situation. I myself figured out the best way for me to administer my monthly income. Fortunately, I was able to receive a tuition refund from my university because of the amount of financial aid I received. This can also be looked at as a loan that you may have taken out. This money is put into a savings account and is untouched unless it is completely necessary. My main goal is to create a budget that will allow me to only spend the money I receive from my part-time job.

Necessities are always the first things I buy. Any fixed costs are also always first priority for me to spend money on. After this, with the left-over money, I distribute it to enjoy and reward myself. Sometimes it may be a new outfit, and other times it may be going out to eat a few times. However, there are months where things may change and I end up having to spend more on necessities. Just in case I go over my budget, I always have the emergency funds. However, I take the initiative and make sure to replace that money spent from the savings account. Replacing that money is not immediate. Sometimes it can take me two months to replace the amount of money I “borrowed” from my savings account.


Personally, this is the way I found to be most effective for me. It allows me to understand the importance of budgeting and saving money. My idea of budgeting can be tweaked in many different ways to satisfy your needs. Always remember that everyone is different and has their own reasons for doing what they do. That is why you should not compare the things you have or do to others around you."


50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page