top of page

What to do After You Have Been Admitted

Updated: Feb 12, 2021


Hey guys!


I am back! I have missed you guys so much! I have also missed writing for you! However, it was necessary for me to take a break from posting my regular content. It was important to focus on the Black Lives Matter Movement and empower it! Even though I am now posting and will be posting, I want to remind you, this is a movement and not a moment. Just because mass media may not be covering it anymore or because it is no longer trending on Twitter does not mean change is still not being fought over. Please make sure you are doing your part.


This is not a political topic and your politics don't matter in this situation. This is about human lives that are being lost incessantly because of our failed and corrupt system. Make sure you are signing petitions, calling your officials, educating yourself and your loved ones as well as having uncomfortable conversations in order to start creating some change. If you follow me on my Instagram (link can be found on my home page), I have an entire highlight dedicated to the BLM movement, or on the home page of this blog, you can also find links to resources you can find useful.


All I really ask is that you educate yourself and do your civically engage. Help end this horrible system. Be part of the change. With that being said, my direct messages on Instagram and emails are open; I am here to help and listen. I hope you are all taking care and are being safe! WEAR YOUR MASKS!


Today, although it is a bit late, I wanted to talk about a few things that you should be doing or think about after you have been admitted (and accepted your offers). These are some of the things that I did and I found really helped me. Some you may have already done and that is great, others might be something you really didn't consider important. Nonetheless, I hope these are able to help you in some way!


Write down any and all dates that you are given.


Personally, this one is big for me, at any given time! When you are starting something, you are normally given A LOT of dates. Although you might have gotten them in an email or in a flyer, it is still important you write them into your own system. This can be in your planner or in your phone calendar. You have to make sure to get them all down in a place you will be sure to see because missing out on some of the dates you are initially given when accepted can be crucial. I remember that some of these dates where deadlines for the last day I had to submit final documents or for fun events that welcomed you and gave you good information about your school/program. Even though it can be overwhelming having to get down each date, it can save you at some point! It is a great habit to pick up and use ALL the time.


Save, gather, and submit any and all documents you are given/asked for.


When you are initially accepted or once you have accepted your offer, you will be asked to submit final forms and documents. When I accepted my offer after being admitted, I had to submit my Immunization card, some affidavits, and some healthcare paperwork. All of these had deadlines, hence my first point! Before I tried to begin submitting them, I made sure I gathered everything first. I figured that if I tried looking for the documents as I filed everything separately, it could have gotten hectic. I was sure that I would misplace papers or accidentally submit the wrong copies. So, once I had all the papers in my hand, I made sure I separated them and then submitted them. This made the entire process way smoother for me. As I finished and got confirmation of submission, I printed those and saved them for my records; something I highly recommend doing as well. Getting this out of the way as soon as possible makes you stress a whole lot less about making sure you are all set, I can guarantee it! The sooner you can, the better.


Pay any and all dues/fees that you need to.


Now, along submitting documents, there will be some dues/fees that you may need to pay aside from your tuition. In my school, I had to pay some housing fees, some first-year student fees, along with others. Each school is different so make sure you know or ask. Also, keep an eye out on any deadlines for those too. Sometimes, you have to get those in before a certain date or else you lose priority on your spot, or even worse, you may be charged extra for late fees. Like the documents and forms, this is also one of the things that I recommend knocking off your list immediately. I am sure none of you want to be charged extra with late fees nor would you want to lose your spot. BE AWARE OF THESE FEES!


Look for potential classes and prepare for your new semester.


Now we are onto the classes. Although it may be a little early for some, when I got accepted, I did not hesitate into looking at how my potential schedule would look and what classes I could be taking. I went on my school's/department's website and browsed through the classes, looked at reviews, and search for some old schedule samples. Through the course of time, as I found classes I would love to take, I noted them for when I would speak to my advisor. This helped inform myself and made the meeting with my advisor so much easier when I had to actually build my schedule. In fact, when I met him, he was so happy that I had an idea of what I wanted because it made his job a bit easier! I think this tip depends on you individually; it is not a complete must but I do recommend it a lot as new students because there is a surplus amount of classes and it can be overwhelming if you don't familiarize yourself with them.


Look for new friends and/or potential classmates.


Like the last one, this one is also more of a recommendation than a must. Looking at the Facebook or Instagram groups that are made for your class is quite helpful. Here, you are able to find people that you may potentially dorm with, may be in your classes, might share your major, or come from the same state as you! Although you might prefer meeting people in person over online, this can be a good way to ease your transition to a new environment and space. It is nice going into a new school knowing at least one person even if it were all through a screen. If you are lucky enough to find people in the same major as you, you can use it for your benefit. You guys can help each other out. Although I did not seek friends out immediately after being accepted, in orientation, I met a girl in the same major as me and I can tell you all that it's been a blessing. We have been lucky enough to share some of the same classes which means we can help each other. Having one person, one completely NEW person, by your side as you embark this adventure called college is so rewarding, so if you can, I do recommend you do this before classes start!


Look for people to connect with.


Okay, this is definitely another BIG one! Make sure you listen. Similar to the previous one, this requires you to do some research. Find older students or alumni that share similar interests and goals with you. They will be of great help to you during and after college. You will want someone that can be YOUR mentor. Mentorship for me is BIG. Like SUPER BIG. I consider mentors to be like cheat codes to life. They will help you get onto the next level with more ease than they could. If you are able to find this person(s), they will be able to give your tips, recommendations, and advice regarding your classes, career, and life. Make sure when you are looking for people to connect with that you will be able to really form a genuine relationship with them because you will want them around you for a long time! They will be like your guardian after all.


Familiarize yourself with the campus using a map.


If you had not already been on the campus or seen it, make sure you look over a map before you do go. Find and create routes that will work for you. Personally, I had never gone to my campus until the summer before I was admitted. In fact, I was there for maybe less than a week and never really explored it because I was at a summit there which was packed quite heavy. Although it is not the same thing as exploring and walking around it in person, make sure you are able to identify and find your: school/department, classes, dining halls, bathrooms, libraries, dorms, and study halls/ tutoring centers. You will probably never get to see your ENTIRE campus but you will surely get to know new places as time goes on. However, the places I mentioned are quite important for you to know. Like I said before, the rest you can find as it comes up. This will help you not be as lost and prevent you from looking totally lost. It can also help you reduce some stress and anxiety that comes with being in new surroundings.


Look for clubs and spaces where you can build and find a community.


The last thing I got to say, but definitely not the only, is that you should look into some clubs and spaces at your school. Before I even committed, I knew about some of the clubs/orgs and spaces that my school had. This had a great influence on my decision because I knew I would not feel TOO out of place. For example, I knew that on my campus we had a Latinx floor, a center for the Latinx community, and a variety of libraries. I knew that I would be able to feel comfortable in these places which made me excited for college. Looking ahead of time also prevents you from feeling lost or behind when clubs start during school. Club rush can also be overwhelming (although I recommend) so this is a great option. There is something about knowing ahead of time that you will have some safe places and fun places on campus that is comforting. I recommend that you look into this because it can help you a lot once classes start and the stress amounts. Having a community and a place to feel sheltered is a win and it sure as heck is even better if you know early on.


Well, that is it. Thank you so much for taking time to read this. I love doing this and it makes me even happier knowing this can potentially help someone else. I really did do all of these and I honestly think they made my first-year experience better. Let me know if you have done these too or will be trying them out! Make sure to share your own tips down below as well!


Much love for you all! Don't forget, keep doing your part in the BLM movement and wear your masks!


Until next time,

Diana



25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page